honestyonly.diaryland.com

realwomen
11.06.2002
I am not a huge size acceptance activist, but I do believe that people should not be discriminated against because of their size. I also strongly believe that the media and fashion industry is portraying the image of what beauty should be in a very distorted and unattainable view. It is just another way of creating insecurity in women, thus making them less confident and less likely to go out and make a difference in the world. Because heaven forbid women should have in power in this world. Well, there is finally a movie out that has a "big girl" in the leading role and she actually isn't apologizing for her body throughout the movie, on the contrary she is proud of her body and comfortable with herself unlike every other movie or tv show with a big girl in it who is always weak, apologetic and insecure. The movie is Real Women Have Curves. I'm tired of women feeling like they have to be anything that they are not. Beauty should be individual and come from within each person, instead our society is pushing everyone to be a size 2 and conform to a standard that only superfreaks (aka supermodels), that make up less than 1% of the population, can fit into. I do believe this movie is sending a very important message, however due to the thin-obsessed views of our society right now I'm afraid it won't get the attention it deserves. Nevertheless, I am really looking forward to seeing this movie and as soon as I do, I'll be posting my own review. Until then, visit Without Measure.


< Prev | Current | Archives | G-Book | Notes | Host | Next >