honestyonly.diaryland.com

Our differences make us beautiful.
04.08.2003
My brother told me that I look like Lisa Loeb in my new glasses. Oh yeah baby, I'm that sexy and then some.

When I was a teenager, I swore that people used to stop and stare at me. Well, guys mostly. But, this doesn't happen so much these days. Now that I'm a little older and a little wiser, I'm wondering if was really just my majorly inflated ego that made me imagine this. Or if it's the fact that now I am a little older and a little fatter?

One time I was working as a hostess at a restaurant and this young white couple stopped me as I was walking past their table. The woman says to me, "We were just talking about what a beautiful young lady you are and we were wondering about your ethnic background. Are you from the middle-east by any chance?" I was so flattered. But of course, in retrospect I wonder if they were trying to hit on me. Maybe hoping for a little m�nage trois action. Who knows. But it made my day. It also made me wonder about our perceptions of other people and their ethnicity.

I'm not from the Middle East in case you are wondering. I'm USA born and bread. Actually, at least four generations of my family are from right here in Kansas. Pretty lame, huh? My dad's side is mostly Spanish, with a little bit of French. My mom's side is mostly German and Norwegian, but we have some other European crap mixed in there.

I guess it's my dark eyes, dark hair and olive skin tone that make people wonder about my ethnicity. It all depends on whom you are talking to though. Which just goes to show that your race can sometimes skew your view of other races. Most black guys think I'm pure white girl. White guys always think I'm Mexican. Mexican guys can tell that I've got a little Latin flavor in me, but some don't think so. And again, I've had a few people tell me I look like I could be from the Middle East.

I�ve never been bothered by my looks. It doesn�t bother me when people ask me, �What are you?� as if I�m a different species or something. I just realize that people are most of the time genuinely curious. I know I am. Especially when it comes to accents. I always ask where they are from. If anything, I like the fact that I might look a little different than your average girl. All in all, I like the fact that there are so many different kinds of people in this world. I love diversity and I actually feel more comfortable when people mix and mingle. It makes life more interesting and definitely more beautiful.

It's been 10 days since my last cigarette.

< Prev | Current | Archives | G-Book | Notes | Host | Next >