honestyonly.diaryland.com

I'm a greedy, ungrateful poophead.
01.27.2003
Why is that no matter how much we have or how blessed we may be, we still want more? I have the will to survive and be happy, but it's not enough. I get to spend time with my son, but I want more time. I have a little spending cash left over each month, but I want more money. I have a nice house, but I want more room. I have a decent car that runs, but I want a nicer one. I have plenty of knowledge to be successful, but I want to know more. I have good friends, but I want more. Why can't I just accept what I have and be happy with it? Is it wrong to want more? Is it wrong to keep striving to be better and smarter and richer? Where is the balance between getting what we want and accepting what we have? Does acceptance mean defeat, or is it the path to happiness?

I was thinking, if I were only allowed to pick one thing in life that I wanted and nothing else was guaranteed, what would I pick? I don't even have to give it a second thought. All I want, all I ask for, is to be able to watch my son grow up. So every moment I get to spend with him, I should be thankful and not worry about anything else. There will always be bills. There will always be jobs. There will always be complications. But every moment I get to spend with my son, I'm getting exactly what I want in life. So I guess I just need to shut the hell up and start being happy.

< Prev | Current | Archives | G-Book | Notes | Host | Next >